Activity Mornings Schedule - June 2018 / August 2018

All Friday activity mornings begin at 10am. Tea, coffee and biscuits will be provided as well as gloves, goggles and tools as required. Tasks are subject to change due to urgent repairs or weather issues but the meeting place will always be Westerham Road car park. In general the first 10 to 20 minutes will be allocated to litter picking around the ponds and adjacent areas before moving to the main task.

Joint tasks with the Bromley Countryside Volunteers (BCV) begin at 10.30am and end at about 3pm. Meeting place will be on site at the location defined for the task. If you stay for the whole day you will need to bring your own refreshments.

All conservation work is carried out under the supervision of idverde, contractor to the London Borough of Bromley. For those activities that are idverde-led either Ian Wright (IW), Steven Lofting (SL) or Darren Russell (DR) will be leading.

PLEASE NOTE: The tasks in this programme are the main task for the day and if you don't feel that the task is for you please do come out anyway because there are always other things that can be done, by anybody of any ability or age. The main thing is that you enjoy yourself and we get things done that we would struggle to achieve without the help of volunteers.

Click here for a printable download version of the schedule.



Friday 1st June 2018
idverde led task (SL): Bracken and Gorse Control – top arm of the Heathland.

Wednesday 6th June 2018
BCV led task: Post and rail netting – around Pond 4 to limit disturbance by dogs.

Thursday 7th June 2018
BCV led task: Post and rail netting – around Pond 4 to limit disturbance by dogs.

Friday 8th June 2018
Self led task: Bracken Control – Padmall Wood glade area.

Friday 15th June 2018
idverde led task (SL): Flora surveys, re-establishment of reptile and butterfly transect (TBC).

Friday 22nd June 2018
Self led task: Cutting back Westerham Rd car-park and pathway from notice board to allow vehicles down the track.

Wednesday 27th June 2018
BCV led task: Bracken and Gorse control – Heathland area.

Thursday 28th June 2018
BCV led task: Bracken and Gorse control – Heathland area.

Friday 29th June 2018
idverde led task (SL): Small and low lying Birch and Gorse Control / tree popping among heather patches south of the SAM.

Wednesday 4th July 2018
BCV led task: Bracken and Gorse control – Heathland area (TBC).

Thursday 5th July 2018
BCV led task: Bracken and Gorse control – Heathland area (TBC).

Friday 6th July 2018
Self led task: Cutting back overhanging vegetation and encroachment from pathways – ROS and Bridleway.

Wednesday 11th July 2018
BCV led task: Molina and Juncus sp. control – Bog.

Thursday 12th July 2018
BCV led task: Molina and Juncus sp. control – Bog.

Friday 13th July 2018
idverde led task (SL): Keston Bog management – Birch pulling, scrub clearance, Molinia and Juncus sp. control. Evaluation of open water / dam clearance and scrapes.

Friday 20th July 2018
Self led task: Cutting back overhanging vegetation and encroachment from pathways – Ponds and Common.

Friday 27th July 2018
idverde led task (IW): TBC – (potentially same as 13th July).

Friday 3rd August 2018
Self led task: Tree Popping of Cherry Laurel and cutting back around Heathfield Rd car-park.

Friday 10th August 2018
idverde led task (SL): TBC – (potentially same as 13th July).

Friday 17th August 2018
Self led task: Cutting back overhanging vegetation and encroachment from pathways – ROS.

Friday 24th August 2018
idverde led task (SL): Non-native invasive species removal to comply with Natural England and stewardship agreement.

Friday 31st August 2018
Self led task: Bracken and low lying scrub regeneration control – Wet Meadows.